DEV Community

loading...

The Ember Times - Issue No. 178

embertimes profile image The Ember Times Originally published at blog.emberjs.com ・Updated on ・6 min read

πŸ‘‹ Emberistas! 🐹

Find out about the Ember 3.26 release, updated release of Unstable Ember Language Server, and addon roundup.


Ember 3.26 released πŸ₯³

Ember 3.26 release was announced on April 12, 2021. The release patched a few bug fixes in ember-source and ember-cli. It also introduced several deprecations in ember-source in preparation of the upcoming Ember 4.0 release.

We encourage you to make time to address deprecated patterns in your apps and addons. The Deprecations Guide provides examples of how you might update your code.

Here are 3 quick tips for what you can do for Ember 3.26:

  1. To make a route transition in a controller or route, inject the router service and use its transitionTo or replaceWith method. You can check the API Guides to learn more about the router service.

    For new code, using the router service shouldn't cause an issue. When you update existing code, however, your app may behave differently when the route transition occurs. Before any update, write tests that cover the intended behavior.

  2. When you invoke the <LinkTo> component with angle brackets, use named arguments to improve code readability. The arguments include @route, @model, @models, and @query.

  3. If you use Ember Data in a controller or route, inject the store service.

Need help with upgrading your app? You can ask questions in the Ember Discussion Forum or the #help channel on Ember Discord.


Updated release of Unstable Ember Language Server ✨

A new version of Unstable Ember Language Server has been published thanks to Suchita Doshi (@suchitadoshi1987) and Alex Kanunnikov (@lifeart).

The Unstable Ember Language Server is a VSCode extension that provides VSCode users features like auto complete, goto definition and diagnostics for Ember projects. While the name contains the word β€œunstable,” it is very stable and is actually a fork of the original Ember Language Server project.

This recent release adds batman syntax support (namespaces) to Unstable Ember Language Server so try it out today on your VSCode!


Addon roundup πŸ™Œ

We wanted to highlight some recent happenings around the web! Check them out and give them a try! 😎


Contributors' corner πŸ‘

This week we'd like to thank Hanna (@hannakim91), Bj Tecu (@btecu), Chris Garrett (@pzuraq), Isaac Lee (@ijlee2), Rinold Simon (@rinoldsimon), Brenden Palmer (@brendenpalmer), Jen Weber (@jenweber), Igor Terzic (@igorT), Esquith Allen (@esquith), Rajasegar Chandran (@rajasegar), Pat O'Callaghan (@patocallaghan), Ricardo Mendes (@locks), Stephen Weiss (@stephencweiss), Chris Manson (@mansona), Nick Schot (@nickschot), Peter Wagenet (@wagenet), Katie Gengler (@kategengler), Lucy Lin (@lin-ll), Giles Thompson (@gilest), Jesse Jordan (@jayjayjpg), Bryan Mishkin (@bmish), Amy Lam (@amyrlam), Afzal Syed (@afzal273), Dave Combs (@davecombs), Godfrey Chan (@chancancode), Chris Thoburn (@runspired), Josemar Luedke (@josemarluedke), Tyler Becks (@tylerbecks), Raido Kuli (@raido), Jared Galanis (@jaredgalanis), Steven Pham (@spham92), and Lee Broxson (@broxsonl) for their contributions to Ember and related repositories! πŸ’–


Connect with us πŸ€“

Office hours Tomster mascot

Wondering about something related to Ember, Ember Data, Glimmer, or addons in the Ember ecosystem, but don't know where to ask? Readers’ Questions are just for you!

Submit your own short and sweet question under bit.ly/ask-ember-core. And don’t worry, there are no silly questions, we appreciate them all - promise! 🀞

Want to write for the Ember Times? Have a suggestion for next week's issue? Join us at #support-ember-times on the Ember Community Discord or ping us @embertimes on Twitter.

Keep on top of what's been going on in Emberland this week by subscribing to our e-mail newsletter! You can also find our posts on the Ember blog. See you in two weeks!



That's another wrap! ✨

Be kind,

Amy Lam, Isaac Lee, Chris Ng, and the Learning Team

Discussion (0)

Forem Open with the Forem app