DEV Community

Cover image for What is Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) & It's Model?
Akash Shukla
Akash Shukla

Posted on • Updated on

What is Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) & It's Model?

The Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is a framework that defines the steps involved in the development and maintenance of software. It provides a structure for planning, creating, testing, and deploying software.

There are several different models for the SDLC, but they all generally follow a similar process:


This phase involves defining the goals and objectives of the software, determining the resources needed to develop it, and establishing a project timeline.


In this phase, the requirements for the software are defined and analyzed in detail. This may include gathering input from stakeholders, creating user stories and acceptance criteria, and performing a risk assessment.


In the design phase, the architecture and overall design of the software are created. This may include creating flowcharts, mockups, and prototypes to visualize the software.


This phase involves writing the code for the software according to the design specifications. It may also include integrating external libraries or frameworks.


In the testing phase, the software is thoroughly tested to ensure that it functions as intended and meets the requirements defined in the analysis phase. This may include unit testing, integration testing, and acceptance testing.


Once the software has been tested and is deemed ready for release, it is deployed to a production environment where it is made available to users.


Even after the software has been deployed, it is important to continue maintaining it to fix any bugs that may arise and to make updates and improvements as needed.

The SDLC provides a framework for developing and maintaining software, but it is important to remember that it is a flexible process that can be adapted to meet the needs of different projects and organizations.


There are several different types of software development life cycle (SDLC) models, each with its own unique characteristics and approach to software development. Here are a few of the most common SDLC models:

Waterfall model:

This is a linear and sequential approach to software development. It involves moving through a series of distinct phases, with each phase building on the previous one. The Waterfall model is best suited for projects with well-defined requirements and a clear understanding of the end product.

Agile model:

This is an iterative and incremental approach to software development. It involves rapid prototyping and frequent releases of working software, with an emphasis on flexibility and adaptability. The Agile model is well-suited for projects with changing or evolving requirements.

Spiral model:

This is a hybrid approach that combines elements of both the Waterfall and Agile models. It involves iteratively moving through the steps of the SDLC, with each iteration addressing a specific set of requirements or goals. The Spiral model is best suited for projects with high levels of risk or uncertainty.


This is a linear model that follows a "V" shape, with each phase of the process corresponding to a specific phase of testing. The V-model is well-suited for projects with strict quality and testing requirements.

Iterative and incremental model:

This is an approach to software development that involves building a product through repeated cycles of development, testing, and refinement. The iterative and incremental model is well-suited for projects with evolving requirements or a high level of uncertainty.

Prototype model:

This is an iterative model in which a prototype of the final product is developed, tested, and refined until it meets the requirements of the customer. This model is well-suited for projects with complex or rapidly changing requirements.

Extreme Programming (XP) model:

This is a type of Agile model that involves close collaboration between developers and customers, with an emphasis on rapid iteration and continuous delivery of working software.

Lean model:

This is an approach to software development that emphasizes the elimination of waste and the continuous improvement of processes. It is based on the principles of the Lean manufacturing method and is well-suited for projects with a focus on efficiency and speed.

Feature-driven development (FDD) model:

This is a type of Agile model that involves the development of small, incremental features that can be delivered quickly and frequently. It is based on the idea of "frequent, small releases."

Rapid application development (RAD) model:

This is a model that emphasizes the rapid development of a working prototype, with an emphasis on user feedback and iteration. It is well-suited for projects with fast-changing or complex requirements.

As a software developer, the things mentioned in this article put you in an excellent position to foster your personal growth.

Did you know that more than half of all plastic produced is used just once and then thrown away?

If you liked this article, consider following me on Twitter I tweet my journey on Twitter daily.

Meanwhile, you can help yourself (and help me) by checking out my Github. I upload great project there and have even better Project Repositories coming up!

Top comments (4)

tauleshwar profile image
Tauleshwar Thakur

Great post, happy writing, happy new year and one year on dev✨
Keep them coming

theakashshukla profile image
Akash Shukla

Thank u so much πŸ’–

nomad_jimm4229 profile image
jimmy nomad • Edited

Awesome post really, continue doing this! Check fintech website development for more details.

Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted