DEV Community

Cover image for Instant deploy rollbacks
Phil Hawksworth for Netlify

Posted on • Originally published at netlify.app

Instant deploy rollbacks

Throughout December we'll be highlighting a different Netlify feature each day. It might just be the thing you need to unlock those creative juices, and dust off that domain you registered but never deployed! Keep an eye on the blog and on Twitter for each feature!

Rollbacks are like an undo button for your deployments! They allow you to instantly revert your site to a previous deployed version — in the event that you accidentally pushed a bug to production, or need to take back some content or design changes.

We've all been there!

Imagine that you just merged a PR to fix a bug or add a feature. Along the line, it also introduced a breaking change. Ordinarily, you would need to debug and figure out what went wrong and how to fix it, while your site users struggle with the buggy site.

With Rollbacks, all you need to do is click a button to revert your site to the last stable version (where it was before you shipped the breaking changes) and your users can continue using your site (error-free) until you've figured out what went wrong and fixed it.

What's more, each and every previous deploy is available for you to roll back to!

More information

Discussion (0)