DEV Community

Cover image for Inspiring Stories: Kristina Simakova
Maxim Salnikov for Azure Heroes

Posted on

Inspiring Stories: Kristina Simakova

As a society we tend to focus on titles and roles, and we forget that behind each title there is a person who has a story to tell. And truly every person’s story is unique.
In honor of International Women's day, we interview inspiring women from the community on the story of how they got into Tech, and where they are today.

In this post, I interview Kristina Simakova who is based in Oslo, Norway.

Meet Kristina

Kristina Simakova

Kristina is an independent IT consultant based in Norway. She is a Google Developer Expert for Android & Maps and has a keen interest in AR, ML and computer graphics. By day, she writes Android native code in Kotlin and by night, she blogs at creativetech.blog about AR and helps organise GDG Oslo events and support the Women in Tech Oslo community. 

Twitter: @KristiSimakova
Facebook: Kristina Simakova

When did you first become interested in technology and what sparked this interest?

I was always interested in technology in general and I got interested in programming during my bachelor study in a computer graphics course.

What education do you have?

Master of Science - Computer Engineering

Describe your way towards your first job in tech; how did you land this job?

I have a major in Computer Graphics and after finishing my masters I was looking forward to working in this field. I applied for a few positions and there was one that I really liked where I would work with creating ship and crane simulators for training. Fortunately, the company gave me the offer.

Kristina Simakova

Do you have any role models that influenced you?

There are a lot of people that influenced me throughout my life: from my math teacher to the founder of my previous company. From the people everyone knows, I want to mention Richard Branson. His spirit and adventures inspire me.  

Who were/are your biggest supporters in your career?

My mother is my biggest supporter of all. 

Tell us more about your current job– e.g. what do you like most about your role?

I am an independent consultant focusing mainly on Android development. I usually join an existing team of developers for 6 months or a longer period of time. I am currently working for a Norwegian mobile payment company.

What does your typical day look like?

On a typical day I would be at my customer's office. As a part of the project, I help develop Android applications. In the morning, we have a short team meeting  and occasionally other meetings during the day. I use most of my time writing code in Kotlin.

What do you do in your free time?

I enjoy traveling and walking around in a new city. I like cooking Asian cuisine and making gluten-free desserts, which helps me clear my thoughts.

What advice will you give to women and girls who dream about a career in tech?

Start with building small projects that you would use yourself and keep learning.

Discussion (0)