DEV Community

Cover image for Understanding Networking Protocols for nailing your next DevOps Interview
Pragyan Tripathi
Pragyan Tripathi

Posted on


Understanding Networking Protocols for nailing your next DevOps Interview

Networking protocols are the most important concepts to excel as a DevOps engineer. Unfortunately, most of them don't seem to understand the basics. Here's a crash course to make you an expert in OSI Model:

OSI stands for Open Systems Interconnection. It provides a standard for different computer systems to be able to talk with each other. 7 layers of OSI model are defined as follows:

L7. Application Layer:

It interacts directly with the user. Browsers rely on it to initiate communications. Responsible for protocols and data manipulation that the software relies on to present meaningful data to the user. Like HTTP and SMTP.

L6. Presentation Layer:

Responsible for preparing data so that it is usable by the application layer. Responsible for translation, encryption, and compression of data.

L5. Session Layer:

Responsible for opening and closing communication between the two devices. The duration between opening and closing is called a session. Ensures that the session stays open long enough to transfer all data that's exchanged.

L4. Transport Layer:

Responsible for end-to-end communication between two devices. Chunks data from the session layer into segments. Handles flow and error control in inter-network communication.

L3. The Network Layer:

Responsible for facilitating data transfer between two networks. Routes data by finding the best physical path for the data to reach its destination. Breaks up segments from the transport layer into packets.

L2. The data link layer:

Similar to the network layer, except it facilitates data transfer between two devices on the SAME network. Breaks packets from the network layer into frames. Responsible for flow and error control in intra-network communication.

L1. The physical layer:

Includes physical equipment like cables and switches for data transfer. This is where data gets converted to a bit stream, a string of 1s and 0s.

As a DevOps engineer, the OSI model helps you understand cloud infrastructure and plays a crucial role when it comes to determining where technical risks and vulnerabilities may exist.

I hope this thread has helped you to understand it better.

7 layers of OSI Model

Thanks for reading this.

If you have an idea and want to build your product around it, schedule a call with me.

If you want to learn more about DevOps and Backend space, follow me.

If you want to connect, reach out to me on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Top comments (0)