Yes, that's actually a very old behaviour. As old as Internet Explorer... 5, maybe?
It's been kept just for compatibility reasons. Just don't ever, ever rely on that, because it's really bad :(
We're a place where coders share, stay up-to-date and grow their careers.
We strive for transparency and don't collect excess data.