loading...

Discussion on: Secrets From Fellow Techies on How to Start A Workout Routine

Collapse
mattdark profile image
Mario García

Hi Molly

Thanks for sharing. I never talk about this except with family and a few friends but this is my own experience.

When I was in high school I used to play soccer ocasionally but didn't follow a healthy diet, so I gained weight really fast. I'm 165 cm tall and by the end of high school I weighed 84 kilos.

There's a history of diabetes in my family so I'm more susceptible to it. That's why I started working out on a regular basis when started the university. During the first semester of university I went to the nutritionist who recommended me a healthy diet, used to practiced taekwondo and went to the gym three times a week. In six months I got to my ideal weight, lost 24 kilos, and continue working out on a regular basis and eating healthy during the rest of the university.

During the following years I left working out and forgot about eating healthy and as a consequence I gained 10 kilos. So I realized that I needed to be serious about my health again.

Two years I ago I started eating healthy again, I left drinking coffee, soda and any kind of canned / bottled drinks. I drink water most of the time and also fruit juices or any drink (prepared with fruit) without sugar. I started working out a few minutes per day, three times a week.

This year I started working out on a daily basis, at home, 30 minutes during the first months and an hour daily since the last month. I don't have a specific time for it, sometimes in the morning or before sleeping.

I have a pair of dumbbells (6 kilos each), a barbell (22 kilos, sometimes I train with 10, 16 or 22 kilos). I combine it with squats, abs and other basic exercises, and some yoga. Planning to buy a boxing bag and starting to go for a run on weekends.

I avoid using public transportation whenever is possible and prefer to walk when I have to go anywhere in the city. On the busiest days I walk 8 to 10 kilometers.

Something that I agree with is getting a reward after working out. Once a week or once a month I go to a coffee shop and buy a frappe and a cheesecake. I eat pizza, tacos or any other similar food occasionally, specially when traveling, and I like to try different kinds of typical food.

It hasn't been easy but now it's part of my routine and I always have in mind that no one would take care of my health than me. These days I weigh 57 kilos. I have more energy during the day and I'm in good health (according to my last medical exam).

Collapse
molly_struve profile image
Molly Struve (she/her) Author

Thank you for sharing your journey, Mario! Sounds like it has not been easy but I am glad you are in a good place now 😊