DEV Community

Discussion on: Stay alert

Collapse
leob profile image
leob • Edited on

Isn't the solution simply to let the user control this, with an option in the browser settings? Default setting would be "off" for maximum security - the user then sees a little warning icon when visiting a site that uses bespoke disabled feature.

The user can then choose to enable it (once, or permanently) for that site, or all sites, so that the site's feature becomes usable when that's of vital important to the user.

So legacy features like these aren't removed but sort of "deprecated" (and can still be used if the end user chooses to enable them).