re: Morning Routine and Healthy Habits in a hostile environment (Aka Parenting) VIEW POST

FULL DISCUSSION
 

You are doing great.

Learning at lunch is a great idea, I listen to podcasts or radio during lunch time, I am learning Spanish, (Viva la España).

I can also relate to feeling time pressured, I have two daughters (2 and 10), and was struggling with this exact thing. For the first year or two it's really full on but does become easier as you get to know your baby and get them into a routine. I had a desire to build or grow a routine that works for my family and me. A routine is important not just for you but your family as well.

The best advice I was given was that routines are grown not implemented, so each week I have been adding in a new habit to the daily routine and changing stuff I do with my children. I added a new habit each week, I'll number the habits, so you get an idea of how many weeks I've been doing this so far.

Wake at 6:00 whatever happens. (1)
Drink a glass of water when I wake up. (2)
Do 20 press-ups after drinking the water. (3)
Put on some aftershave (4)

Then I get dressed do some house chores, ironing or dishwasher, sorting clothes etc.

Wake children at 7 then leave for work. Only a 15 minutes commute but I start at 7:30, I make sure I get a drink as the first thing i do in the office. (5)
Lunch is around 12-1, generally eat and then take a walk listening to podcasts (6), I decided to do this as I don't walk enough and can learn more.

Home by 5:30, then start to prepare the meal my girlfriend and I planned at the weekend (7), this saves the normal what would you like tonight, I don't fancy that or this or we are missing that special ingredient etc.

6:30 Bath time with my youngest daughter, I actually bath with her as it saves time and we can splash about a little. (8)

7:30 bed time for the youngest and then I spend some time with my other daughter.
8:15 bed time for my 10 year old.
8:30 Cook while I do 20 press ups (9)
9:00 nice meal time with my partner + house chores
10:00 get my clothes out and prepare any bags for the coming day (10)
10:30 Bed

So after 9 weeks:
I wake at 6.
I drink more per day.
I do 40 press ups a day. (I have been increasing this as i go)
We have a nice meal plan for the week.
I walk every day at work, practising listening to spanish, or thinking about coding.
I turned bath time from a chore time, into play time.
I am fully ready for the next day before it starts.

Over the next few weeks I plan on trying to add:
Reading with my 10 year old in the evening for 15 mins, she will read Harry potter or a Jacqueline Wilson book, me design patterns.
Add in some lunges to the daily work out at the start and the end. (will take two weeks)
Think of any other chores like the bath I can turn into fun games with my 2 year old. Perhaps buy a bag for her lego and see what we can throw in from the other end of the room ?

I really do believe that a journey of 1000 miles starts with a single step, I've taken 9 so far, it's about taking tiny little steps and growing a routine.

Good luck and thinking and asking about it is the way forward.:)

code of conduct - report abuse